Review, Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 10 #11 (Love Dares You, Part 01)

21 01 2015

With the magical side of things momentarily under control, Buffy and crew have a chance to deal with their personal lives: things heat up between Xander and Dawn, young Giles is visited by an old flame, Andrew introduces some new friends, and the Slayer is totally set for round one of speed dating! Then the bad guy shows up.

• Secrets are revealed!

Writer: Christos Gage, Nicholas Brendon
Artist: Megan Levens
Colorist: Dan Jackson

Buffy and the gang struggle with their newfound responsibility, rewriting the rules of magic. Between that and trying to understand the regular ol’ rules of love, things are a little heated for our heroes. But this rock-solid group of friends are still enjoying adulthood in a thriving city (or, er . . . except Giles) until a seriously bad, bad guy comes to roost in a most unexpected place.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It has been a while since my last review. It’s not that I don’t read the comics, I still do every month and before than most of you actually, it’s just that I don’t find something interesting to say. Things were totally different in S9, because unfortunately the writing and (especially) the art was worse and worse, issue by issue. And when something is not that good, criticism is easier. This season, I will be honest. It is not the best thing I’ve ever read, but it is solid and up so far it has a good continuity. Sometimes I read people saying that they have finally come to a point of being able to separate the comics from the series, but I was never a fan of S08 so I actually don’t see any difference. I am just happy that unlike S08, S10 has the heroes I prefer (excluding Andrew), and unlike S09, S10 doesn’t have a story all over the place. And finally, lovely art.

So, what changed my mind that I decided to write the review? Well, first of all, I laughed. It was fun to read. Although some things are harder for me to understand, not being native english speaker and living in a french/dutch speaking country that I had to look some up online, but still I laughed..
Speed-dating, kitties, superhero..
And second, the end. I wanted to spoil it, but Christos asked me not to before the issue is out, so I won’t. Or I’ll try not to. Whoever follows me knows my preferences, so guess what, it happened and it was not a dream…neither a fantasy. Fingers crossed for next month, well said Dawn!

As for the art, I was kind of surprised. I hadn’t seen the preview pages and had no idea that there is a new artist. It was good, but not great. Not Will Conrad kind of great, who is totally amazing and breathtaking in A&F. There were actually panels I didn’t like at all, but some others really good ones. I have to see more in order to be able to say for sure.

So, like I said, fingers crossed for the reaction (answer? words? actions?) next month, and just go and get the comic!

Georgia

Actions

Information

3 responses

26 01 2015
Lydia

I am a huge fan of the TV series. Huge. However, I never transitioned to the graphic novels. I’m thinking it’s time to start. How would you recommend I start? Were’s the best place to get them in Brussels?

27 01 2015
leykimayri

I get them online. Actually I get the digital version from the DarkHorse site.
Start with Angel:After the Fall (issues 1-21, forget the rest), then go to Buffy S8, then Buffy S9 and Angel&Faith Volume 1 at the same time, and finally Buffy Season 10/Angel&Faith Volume 2

4 02 2015
Lydia

Thanks. It’s so wonderful to reunite with my favourite characters after all this time.

Leave a Reply

