Review, Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 10 #12 (Love Dares You, Part 02)

17 02 2015


Buffy and her crew are on the cusp of some monumental relationship stuff, but entanglements are waylaid when they’re forced to fight a new evil and the flesh homunculi he creates.
CREATORS
Writer: Christos Gage, Nicholas Brendon
Artist: Megan Levens
Colorist: Dan Jackson
Cover Artist: Rebekah Isaacs

Buffy and the gang struggle with their newfound responsibility, rewriting the rules of magic. Between that and trying to understand the regular ol’rules of love, things are a little heated for our heroes. But this rock-solid group of friends are still enjoying adulthood in a thriving city (or, er…except Giles) until a seriously bad, bad guy comes to roost in a most unexpected place.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have to be honest, I had no idea they will drive things that way. Remember all your predictions last month? Well, you are all wrong, including me. All wrong but one poster in Buffyforums, who actually yesterday made some comments and predictions. I will be again honest, I took those lightly. And I am really trying hard not to spoil things. Really hard.

It was not a good issue, it was a great issue. And for me an issue is great when it makes me laugh. From Dawn’s and Xander’s eavesdropping, to their comments, to the conversations which are revealed that Xander with Spike have been having, proof of their building friendship, to Giles, even a panel with Andrew (one of my least favorite characters) was funny the way it happened. Plus Valentine’s month, Spuffy all over the place, handled the best way it has ever been handled ever since the comics began. Things would leave us with our mouths wide open at the end, but future solicitations have been really full of spoilers so we kind of figure out where they’ll go.

Art is rather good, I liked it. Megan is certainly in my heart now, since she was the lucky one drawing what we’ve been waiting for years. Or maybe she was the one bringing us good luck? OK, I stop now, I am getting too much spoilery!

Go buy the issue!

Georgia


Actions

Information

One response

17 02 2015
cil_domney

Totally excited from your review to get my new issue – So much speculation going on all over the place about B&S particularly – Thanks Much for your continuing reviews –

Leave a comment